A Boy and His Bottle

Two years ago, I made an investment. Not in the economy or even my future; it was an investment in sustainable hydration.

This Nalgene has served me well ever since. Every time I use this bottle instead of buying a single-use bottle of water, I reduce my plastic consumption and save a couple of bucks in the process. It’s become habit to leave the house with a full Nalgene. It just makes sense to me.

What I don’t understand is why some people find it easier to pay for a bottle of water every day instead of investing in a reusable bottle of their own. It doesn’t matter what brand it is, whether it’s BPA-free plastic or stainless steel, or if you cover it in stickers or paint. What matters is that you understand the difference one reusable bottle can make on the environment.

Using this bottle everyday for the past two years, I’ve saved nearly $1,500 and have prevented almost 1,000 plastic bottles from entering the waste cycle. And all it took was a $10 investment.

 

One response to “A Boy and His Bottle

  1. Pingback: The TapThat Challenge | TapThat·

Leave a Reply

